Wallet with glasses

Investing for Your Future in Canada

There are investment options available to help you set money aside for your future needs, like buying a home, saving for your children’s education or retiring comfortably.

These investment options fit into three main asset classes:

Cash

Cash investments include savings accounts, fixed-term deposits such as guaranteed investment certificates (GICs), currency, Canada Savings Bonds, money market funds and government and corporate bonds maturing in less than one year.

Fixed income

Fixed income investments include government and corporate bonds maturing in more than one year, preferred shares and other debt instruments.

Equities

Equity investments include common stocks, some derivatives (rights, warrants, options), convertible bonds and convertible preferred shares.

In addition to the products listed here, mutual funds and exchange-traded funds can hold a variety of investments, such as stocks and bonds. Investments such as these can help diversify your portfolio. Depending on what they hold, they can fit into or across different asset classes.

You can hold your investments in a registered or non-registered account. Each type of account comes with its own features, eligibility requirements and restrictions. It’s important to research which account (or accounts) is best for you and your family.

Registered accounts can offer tax advantages.
Here are two registered account options:

TFSA

A Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA) is a savings account registered with the federal government that lets your savings grow tax-free for any goal you want. TFSA withdrawals are tax free because you make contributions with after-tax dollars.

RRSP

A Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP) is an account that is registered with the federal government, and is intended to help you save money for retirement. RRSP contributions are tax-deferred. This means you don’t pay tax on your income used for contributions but you do pay tax on your withdrawals.

exclamation mark 3 types of homes

Buying a home is a big investment. Like many other investments, the real estate market is subject to fluctuating prices. And just like other investments, do your research and carefully consider your options before you buy.

For more information about the types of investment accounts available in Canada and investment options, visit GetSmarterAboutMoney.ca

Baby carriage, apple, and a book

Saving for Your Child’s Education

There are many costs if you want your children to attend university, college or an apprenticeship program in Canada after high school. The largest expense is likely to be tuition, but there are also things like textbooks that need to be purchased and these can get expensive. If your child moves out of your home to attend school, there will also be costs for housing and food. One way to save for these costs is by opening a Registered Education Savings Plan (RESP).

An RESP is a dedicated savings plan to help you save for your child’s education after high school. Your savings grow tax-free and there is no tax on the investment earnings as long as they remain in the account. As a student, your child probably won’t have much in the way of taxable income, so they will likely have little or no tax to pay when the time comes for them to withdraw from their RESP.

While all RESPs can help you save for your child’s education, there are different types of plans; each plan will have different features including fees and monthly contribution requirements. It is important to know the rules before you open any type of RESP.

The three types of RESPs are:

Single person

Individual plans

Individual plans are intended to pay for the education of one beneficiary. Anyone can open an individual plan and anyone can contribute to it. You can even open a plan for yourself. Individual plans usually don’t require you to make a minimum deposit.

Family

Family plans

Family plans can have more than one beneficiary. Beneficiaries must be related to the person who opens the plan and you can decide how to divide the funds amongst beneficiaries. Family plans usually don’t require you to make a minimum deposit.

Group of people

Group plans

Group plans work differently from individual and family plans. They often have additional rules about the required monthly deposits, how much and how often your child can make withdrawals, and which education programs are eligible. Group plans are sold by scholarship plan dealers who are registered with the securities regulator in the provinces and territories where they sell investments to the public. You have 60 days to cancel plans provided by scholarship plan dealers with no penalty.

exclamation mark

Did you know?

If you have an RESP, the Government of Canada will provide additional saving incentives up to a certain limit. The amount you receive depends on your annual contributions and annual household income.

You may also use other types of accounts to save for your child’s education, such as a TFSA, a trust or a non-registered account. Each type of account, including RESPs, comes with its own features and restrictions. Make sure you review all of your options and the different types of accounts and investments in order to make the best decisions for you and your family.

For more information about RESPs and questions to ask when choosing an RESP provider go to:

GetSmarterAboutMoney.ca

exclamation mark

Plans registered with the federal government (for example: Tax Free Savings Accounts, Registered Retirement Savings Plans and Registered Education Savings Plans) are regulated by the Canada Revenue Agency, an agency of the Government of Canada. The Canada Revenue Agency website has the latest information and rules about these plans.

Magnifying glass over eye

Learn to Recognize Investment Fraud

There’s a saying that if something sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Fraudulent investment opportunities and the people trying to sell them can sometimes be very convincing, so it’s important to learn what some common scams look like and where they can happen.

One way that fraudsters might approach you is through a group or community organizations that you belong to.  Fraudsters will use their targets’ religious community or cultural identity to gain their trust. The fraudster will often volunteer with them, attend social events for that particular group, and are often from the same community. They might have been in Canada longer and so present themselves as someone potential victims can trust and rely on in an unfamiliar Canadian financial industry. Once they have established a strong relationship, they convince people to invest in their scheme. This is known as affinity fraud.

Victims can lose some or all of their life savings to fraud. Many people often don’t report the fraud out of fear of embarrassment or backlash from their friends and family. They may try to resolve problems within the group, which can leave others vulnerable to the same fraud.

Fraudsters will go to great lengths to get between you and your hard-earned money. Knowing what to look for can help you avoid losing money to investment fraud.

Common signs of investment fraud

Rainbow

High returns with little or no risk

Generally, the higher the potential return of an investment, the higher the risk of that investment. This is known as the risk-return relationship. If someone promises you an investment that has high returns with little or no risk, the investment that they are offering might be a scam.

Hourglass

Pressure to buy

Fraudsters frequently use high-pressure sales tactics to quickly get your money and then move on to other victims. Investing your money is a serious decision, and should always be done with time and consideration. Be very cautious if you are asked to make a decision right away, or are presented with a limited-time offer. Fraudsters don’t want to give you enough time to figure out their scheme.

List

Unregistered salespeople or advisors

Before you invest, check the registration of the person offering you the investment. In general, anyone selling securities or offering investment advice must be registered with their provincial securities regulator. If the person selling the investment is not registered to do business in Canada, you should question whether they’re authorized to sell investments at all.

Learn more about checking registration (In English/French only)

exclamation mark

You may hesitate to report fraud but it’s important to remember that investment fraud can happen to anyone. If you suspect that you have been approached by a fraudster or that you may have been a victim of a scam, please contact us immediately.

Avoiding investment scams

Chat bubble with a tie

Get a second opinion

Be skeptical of unsolicited investment opportunities that you might receive over the phone, online or from acquaintances. Before you invest, call us or get a second opinion from someone you’ve confirmed is a registered advisor. You may also want to consult a lawyer or an accountant.

Clock

Take the time you need

Be suspicious of limited-time offers and high-pressure salespeople. If the investment is legitimate, you should not have to invest on the spot. Take the time you need to make an informed decision.

Computer

Research the investment

Before you make any investment, understand how it works, and the risks and fees associated with it. Don’t be afraid to ask questions. Make sure it fits with your financial goals and needs.

Group of faces, one wearing a mask to look like the others

Check Before You Invest

One of the best ways to avoid investment fraud is to verify that any person offering you an investment or investing advice is registered to do so. In general, anyone selling securities or offering investment advice must be registered with the securities regulator in the provinces and territories where they sell investments.

Why is registration important?

Registration helps protect investors because investment regulators, like the Ontario Securities Commission, will only register people or companies that are qualified to sell investments or offer advice to the public.

Checking registration is quick and easy to do. Use the National Registration Search tool to check the registration status and review the discipline history of any person or business in the investment industry.

Ontario Securities Commission logo

Ontario Securities Commission

The Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) is a regulator that is responsible for regulating the capital markets in Ontario. The OSC provides protection to investors from unfair, improper or fraudulent practices and fosters fair and efficient capital markets and confidence in capital markets.

People and businesses that are trading securities and providing investors with advice in Ontario must follow Ontario securities rules. The OSC can take action against those who don’t follow the rules.

The Investor Office (www.InvestorOffice.ca) is a part of the OSC. The Investor Office sets the strategic direction and leads the OSC’s efforts in investor engagement, education, outreach and research. The Office also brings the investor perspective to policy-making and operations.

GetSmarterAboutMoney Owl icon

GetSmarterAboutMoney.ca

GetSmarterAboutMoney.ca is an Ontario Securities Commission website that provides independent and unbiased information and financial tools to help you make better decisions about your money.

Here you will find information on investing basics, such as the different roles that organizations and professionals have in Canadian markets, the different types of investment accounts available in Canada, and questions to ask before you choose an investment.

GetSmarterAboutMoney.ca also has calculators, worksheets and quizzes to help you make better informed investment decisions for you and your family.

Hands holding up the letter 'i'

Inquiries and Contact Centre

You can contact the Inquiries and Contact Centre of the Ontario Securities Commission if you have a question or complaint about a company, an investment product, or the actions of your advisor.

The team can answer your questions in over 200 languages.

The Inquiries and Contact Centre will answer your questions and may refer your complaint or inquiry to another branch at the Ontario Securities Commission.

Ask a question

Phone

Local (Toronto)

416-593-8314

Map of North America

Toll-free (North America)

1-877-785-1555

Ear

TTY

1-866-827-1295

Piece of paper

Fax

416-593-8122

(Questions and complaints)

Wallet with glasses

Investissez dans votre avenir au Canada

Des options de placement existent pour vous aider à mettre de l’argent de côté pour vos besoins futurs, comme acheter une maison ou épargner pour les études de vos enfants ou pour prendre une retraite confortable.

Ces options de placement entrent dans trois grandes catégories d’actif :

Espèces

Les placements en espèces comprennent les comptes d’épargne, les dépôts à terme comme les certificats de placement garanti (CPG), les devises, les Obligations d’épargne du Canada, les fonds du marché monétaire ainsi que les obligations du gouvernement et de sociétés venant à échéance dans moins d’un an.

Revenu fixe

Les placements à revenu fixe comprennent les obligations du gouvernement et de sociétés venant à échéance dans plus d’un an, les actions privilégiées et les autres titres de créance.

Actions

Les placements en actions comprennent les actions ordinaires, certains instruments dérivés (droits de souscription, bons de souscription, options), les obligations convertibles et les actions privilégiées convertibles.

En plus des produits énumérés ci­dessus, les fonds communs de placement et les fonds négociés en bourse peuvent détenir une variété de placements, comme des actions et des obligations. Ces types de placement peuvent contribuer à diversifier votre portefeuille. Selon ce qu’ils détiennent, ils peuvent correspondre à différentes catégories d’actifs.

Vous pouvez détenir vos placements dans un compte enregistré ou non enregistré. Chaque type de compte possède ses propres caractéristiques, exigences en matière d’admissibilité et restrictions. Il est important d’étudier quels comptes représentent la meilleure option pour vous et votre famille.

Les comptes enregistrés peuvent offrir des avantages fiscaux.
Voici deux options de compte enregistré :

CELI

Un compte d’épargne libre d’impôt (CELI) est un compte d’épargne enregistré auprès du gouvernement fédéral qui permet à vos économies de fructifier à l’abri de l’impôt, et ce, quel que soit votre objectif. Les retraits effectués dans un CELI sont à l’abri de l’impôt parce que vos cotisations sont versées en dollars après impôt.

REER

Un régime enregistré d’épargne­retraite (REER) est un compte enregistré auprès du gouvernement fédéral qui est destiné à vous aider à épargner de l’argent pour votre retraite. Les cotisations à un REER sont à imposition différée. Cela signifie que vous ne payez aucun impôt sur le revenu alloué à vos cotisations, mais vous en payez lorsque vous effectuez des retraits.

exclamation mark 3 types of homes

L’achat d’une maison est un événement important. Comme plusieurs autres placements, le marché de l’immobilier est assujetti à des variations des prix. Comme pour les autres placements, faites des recherches et évaluez attentivement vos options avant d’acheter.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les types de compte de placement offerts au Canada et sur les options de placement, visitez le site GérezMieuxVotreArgent.ca

Baby carriage, apple, and a book

Épargnez pour les études de vos enfants

De nombreux frais sont associés aux études supérieures si vous voulez que vos enfants fréquentent une université, un collège ou un programme d’apprentissage au Canada après le secondaire. Les frais de scolarité représentent vraisemblablement la dépense la plus importante, mais il faudra également acheter des livres et ils peuvent être dispendieux. Si votre enfant quitte la maison pour fréquenter l’école, vous devrez également tenir compte des frais de logement et de nourriture. Une façon d’épargner pour ces frais est d’ouvrir un régime enregistré d’épargne­-études (REEE).

Un REEE est un régime d’épargne distinct qui vous aide à épargner pour l’éducation de votre enfant après le secondaire. Vos épargnes fructifient à l’abri de l’impôt et les revenus tirés des placements ne sont pas imposés tant qu’ils demeurent dans le compte. En tant qu’étudiant, votre enfant ne devrait probablement pas avoir un revenu imposable élevé, donc il ne paiera aucun impôt ou presque lorsque viendra le temps de faire des retraits de son REEE.

Même si tous les REEE peuvent vous aider à épargner pour les études de votre enfant, il existe différents types de régime. Chaque régime a des caractéristiques différentes, notamment en ce qui concerne les frais et les exigences en matière de cotisations mensuelles. Il est important de connaître les règles avant d’ouvrir tout type de REEE.

Voici les trois types de REEE :

Single person

REEE individuel

Le REEE individuel a pour but de financer les études d’un bénéficiaire. N’importe qui peut ouvrir un REEE individuel et n’importe qui peut y cotiser. Vous pouvez même en ouvrir un pour vous­même. Habituellement, il n’y a pas de dépôt minimal dans un REEE individuel.

Family

REEE familial

Le REEE familial peut compter plus d’un bénéficiaire. Les bénéficiaires doivent avoir un lien de parenté avec la personne qui ouvre le REEE et vous pouvez décider de la façon dont les fonds seront répartis entre les bénéficiaires. Habituellement, il n’y a pas de dépôt minimal dans un REEE familial.

Group of people

REEE collectif

Le REEE collectif fonctionne différemment des REEE individuel et familial. Des règles supplémentaires s’appliquent souvent concernant les dépôts mensuels, le montant et la fréquence des retraits effectués par votre enfant, et les programmes d’étude admissibles. Les REEE collectifs sont vendus par des courtiers en plans de bourses d’études qui sont enregistrés auprès de l’autorité en valeurs mobilières de la province ou du territoire où ils vendent les placements au public. Vous avez 60 jours pour annuler un REEE vendu par un courtier en plans de bourses d’études sans pénalité.

exclamation mark

Le saviez-vous?

Si vous avez un REEE, le gouvernement du Canada vous offrira des incitatifs d’épargne supplémentaires jusqu’à une certaine limite. Le montant que vous recevez dépend de vos cotisations annuelles et du revenu annuel de votre ménage.

Vous pouvez également avoir recours à d’autres types de comptes pour épargner pour les études de votre enfant, comme un CELI, un compte en fiducie ou un compte non enregistré. Chaque type de compte, y compris le REEE, possède ses propres caractéristiques et restrictions. Assurez-­vous d’examiner toutes les options qui s’offrent à vous et tous les différents types de comptes et de placements afin de prendre les meilleures décisions pour vous et votre famille.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les REEE et pour obtenir la liste des questions à poser au moment de choisir un fournisseur de REEE, veuillez visiter le site

GérezMieuxVotreArgent.ca

exclamation mark

Les régimes enregistrés auprès du gouvernement fédéral (par exemple : les comptes d’épargne libre d’impôt, les régimes enregistrés d’épargne­retraite et les régimes enregistrés d’épargne­études) sont réglementés par l’Agence du revenu du Canada, une agence du gouvernement du Canada. Le site Web de l’Agence du revenu du Canada comporte les renseignements et les règles à jour concernant ces régimes.

Magnifying glass over eye

Apprenez à reconnaître les fraudes liées aux placements

Selon un certain dicton, si c’est trop beau pour être vrai, c’est probablement le cas. Les occasions de placement frauduleuses et les personnes qui essaient de les vendre peuvent parfois être très convaincantes. Il est donc important d’apprendre à quoi ressemblent certaines escroqueries répandues et quand elles peuvent survenir.

Les fraudeurs peuvent notamment vous approcher par l’entremise d’une organisation de groupe ou d’une organisation communautaire à laquelle vous appartenez. Les fraudeurs se servent de la communauté religieuse ou de l’identité culturelle de leurs cibles pour gagner leur confiance. Souvent, ils seront bénévoles auprès de ces organisations et participeront à des événements sociaux. De plus, ils appartiennent souvent à la même communauté. Cela peut faire plus longtemps qu’ils sont au Canada et se présentent donc comme des personnes auxquelles les victimes potentielles peuvent faire confiance dans un secteur financier canadien inconnu. Lorsqu’ils ont établi une relation solide, ils convainquent les personnes d’investir dans leur plan. Il s’agit d’une fraude par affinité.

Les victimes peuvent perdre une partie ou la totalité de leurs épargnes d’une vie dans cette fraude. Bon nombre de personnes ne signalent pas la fraude parce qu’elles ont peur de se sentir embarrassées ou ont peur de la réaction défavorable de leurs amis et de leur famille. Elles peuvent essayer de résoudre les problèmes au sein de leur groupe, ce qui peut rendre les autres vulnérables à la même fraude.

Les fraudeurs sont prêts à aller très loin pour mettre la main sur l’argent que vous avez si difficilement gagné. Quand vous savez à quoi vous attendre, cela peut vous aider à éviter de perdre de l’argent dans une fraude liée aux placements.

Signes courants d’une fraude liée aux placements

Rainbow

On vous offre des rendements élevés ayant peu ou pas de risques

En général, les placements à risques élevés offrent des rendements potentiels plus élevés, et les placements à plus faibles risques offrent des rendements potentiels moins élevés. C’est le principe de la relation entre le risque et le rendement. Si quelqu’un vous promet un placement offrant des rendements élevés en courant peu ou pas de risques, le placement que cette personne vous offre peut être une escroquerie.

Hourglass

On fait pression sur vous pour que vous achetiez

Les fraudeurs ont souvent recours à des tactiques de vente sous pression afin d’obtenir rapidement votre argent et de passer à une autre victime. Le placement de votre argent est une décision sérieuse et vous devriez toujours prendre votre temps. Faites preuve de prudence si on vous demande de prendre une décision immédiatement ou si on vous présente une offre à durée limitée. Les fraudeurs ne veulent pas vous donner assez de temps pour vous permettre de découvrir leur plan.

List

Les conseillers ou les courtiers ne sont pas inscrits auprès d’un organisme

Avant d’effectuer un placement, vérifiez l’inscription de la personne qui vous offre ce placement auprès d’un organisme de réglementation. Généralement, toute personne qui vend des valeurs mobilières ou donne des conseils en matière de placement doit être inscrite auprès d’un organisme de réglementation des valeurs mobilières provincial. Si la personne qui vend le placement n’est pas inscrite auprès d’un organisme canadien, vous devriez vous demander si cette personne est autorisée à pratiquer tout court.

Apprenez-­en davantage au sujet de la vérification de l’inscription (en anglais et en français seulement)

exclamation mark

Vous pouvez hésiter à signaler une fraude, mais il importe de ne pas oublier que n’importe qui peut être victime d’une fraude liée aux placements. Si vous pensez que vous avez été approché par un fraudeur ou que vous avez peut­être été victime d’une escroquerie, veuillez communiquer avec nous immédiatement.

Éviter les fraudes liées aux placements

Chat bubble with a tie

Demandez un deuxième avis

Remettez en question les occasions de placement non sollicitées que l’on vous présente au téléphone, en ligne ou qu’une connaissance vous présente. Avant d’effectuer un placement, appelez­nous ou demandez un deuxième avis à un conseiller dont vous avez confirmé l’inscription. Vous pouvez également consulter un avocat ou un comptable.

Clock

Prenez le temps dont vous avez besoin

Méfiez­-vous des offres à durée limitée et des vendeurs qui exercent beaucoup de pression. Si le placement est légitime, vous ne devriez pas avoir à investir immédiatement. Prenez votre temps pour prendre une décision éclairée.

Computer

Renseignez­-vous sur le placement

Avant d’effectuer un placement, assurez­vous de comprendre comment il fonctionne, et de comprendre les risques et les frais qui y sont associés. N’ayez pas peur de poser des questions. Assurez­vous qu’il correspond à vos objectifs et à vos besoins en matière de finance.

Group of faces, one wearing a mask to look like the others

Renseignez-­vous avant d’investir

Une des meilleures façons d’éviter les fraudes liées aux placements est de vérifier si la personne qui vous offre d’investir ou qui vous donne des conseils en matière de placement est inscrite auprès d’un organisme pour le faire. En général, toute personne qui vend des valeurs mobilières ou donne des conseils en matière de placement doit être inscrite auprès d’un organisme de réglementation des valeurs mobilières de la province ou du territoire où elle vend les placements.

Pourquoi l’inscription auprès d’un organisme est-­elle importante?

L’inscription auprès d’un organisme contribue à protéger les investisseurs, parce que les organismes de réglementation des valeurs mobilières, comme la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario, permettront seulement l’inscription de personnes ou de sociétés qui sont qualifiées pour vendre des placements ou donner des conseils au public.

Il est très facile et rapide de vérifier l’inscription d’une personne. Utilisez le Moteur de recherche national de renseignements sur l’inscription pour vérifier l’inscription de toute personne ou société de l’industrie du placement et examiner son historique.

Logo de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario

Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario

La Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario (CVMO) est un organisme de réglementation responsable de la réglementation des marchés financiers de l’Ontario. La CVMO protège les investisseurs contre les pratiques déloyales, irrégulières ou frauduleuses et favorise des marchés financiers justes et efficaces en plus de promouvoir la confiance en ceux­-ci.

Les personnes et les sociétés qui effectuent des opérations sur valeurs mobilières et qui fournissent des conseils aux investisseurs en Ontario doivent respecter les règlements sur les valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario. La CVMO peut prendre des mesures contre les personnes qui ne respectent pas les règlements.

Le Bureau des investisseurs (BureauDesInvestisseurs.ca) fait partie de la CVMO. Le Bureau des Investisseurs fixe l’orientation stratégique et dirige les efforts de la CVMO à l’égard du dialogue, de l’éducation, de la sensibilisation et de la recherche auprès des investisseurs. En outre, il apporte le point de vue de l’investisseur lors de l’élaboration de politiques et d’activités.

Logo GérezMieuxVotreArgent.ca

GerezMieuxVotreArgent.ca

GérezMieuxVotreArgent.ca est un site Web de la CVMO qui fournit des renseignements indépendants et objectifs ainsi que des outils financiers pour vous aider à prendre de meilleures décisions quant à votre argent.

Sur ce site, vous trouverez des renseignements sur les fondements du placement, comme les différents rôles que les organismes et les professionnels jouent sur les marchés canadiens, les différents types de comptes de placement offerts au Canada et les questions à poser avant de choisir un placement.

GérezMieuxVotreArgent.ca contient également des calculatrices, des feuilles de calcul et des questionnaires pour vous aider à prendre des décisions plus éclairées en matière de placement pour vous et votre famille.

Hands holding up the letter 'i'

InfoCentre

Vous pouvez communiquer avec l’InfoCentre de la CVMO si vous avez des questions à poser ou des plaintes à formuler concernant une société, un produit de placement ou les gestes de votre conseiller.

L’équipe peut répondre à vos questions dans plus de 200 langues.

L’InfoCentre répondra à vos questions et peut transférer votre plainte ou votre demande à une autre division de la CVMO.

Des questions?

Phone

Appels locaux (Toronto)

416 593-8314

Map of North America

Appels sans frais (Amérique du Nord)

1 877 785-1555

Ear

ATS

1 866 827-1295

Piece of paper

Télécopieur

416 593-8122

(questions et plaintes)